Button Text

1. One Inch Shrugs The Other Shoulder 02:29

2. Air Is Unfit 04:31

3. To Change Is To Continue 03:57

4. Juliusstrasse 04:12

5. Area Under A Curve 05:32

6. Strong, Calm, Slow 03:58


‘Cliodynamics' is the second release by Copenhagen composer and musician Astrid Sonne. Acting as a sequel to her debut album 'Human Lines' (2018), 'Cliodynamics' allows the listener to delve deeper into the enveloping elements of her compositional practice. The result is a refined electronic expression, continuing to bring in her instrument of choice, the viola, as a natural part of her music. As well as adding something new to her work, working with four vocalists.

With a reinforced interest in transitions and crossings in form and structure, the six tracks present their very own perception of emotional states of being. Each composition is a thorough exploration of their own dynamics and pace, paying close attention to the qualities connected to the sensitive features. 'Cliodynamics' in total becomes a guide carrying the listener through islands of both high-intensity polyrhythmic and careful ambience with equal kindness. Common for the compositions is the continued way of working with the balance between repetition and renewal in the musical material. Sonnes approach is both insisting and bendable at the same time, accommodating consideration for balance and dynamics in each piece.

Composed, arranged and produced by Astrid Sonne

Vocals by Andrea Novel, Xenia Xamanek Lopez, Henriette Motzfeldt, Astrid Sonne

Mixed by Astrid Sonne, Tobias Kropp

Mastered by Andreas [LUPO] Lubich